***Update 1 – 2017-07-13 – 17:30 CEST***

I am sorry that it took me a bit of time before I could find some new info about the case with “Senran Kagura” and it’s said upcoming self-censorship, but now I got some very positive news to share you guys and girls. You see, Kenichiro Takaki has commented on this matter, and this is what he said via Twitter today:

“I’d like to make it clear that it is not my intention to tone down the content in Senran Kagura overseas.” Kenichiro Takaki

However, before you start celebrating like crazy over that statement, then you better read this part by Takaki as well:

“If age rating boards require changes to allow a release, we will have to comply. But otherwise, I want everyone to enjoy the same content!” Kenichiro Takaki

So we’re half-way home safe, sort of, because “if” the Western age rating boards tell Marvelous Games and Tamsoft that they will have to tone down the lewd content in “Senran Kagura”. Then they will have to accept that request. Simply put, there will be no self-censorship or alterations of the “Senran Kagura” series as long as the Western age rating boards don’t tell Tamsoft and Marvelous Games to make any changes of that kind (let’s hope for the best).

I would also like to point out that it appears as if the self-censorship part from Playstation lifestyle’s article about Kenichiro Takaki and “Senran Kagura” might have been taken out of context (Playstation lifestyle has commented on the matter in their brand-new interview with Kenichiro Takaki today). Because in Siliconera’s interview with Kenichiro Takaki (the interview was done on the 28th of June this year) you got a completely different picture of what Takaki meant with his statement about “Senran Kagura” and the said self-censorship part:

Siliconera
While you are known in the West for creating Senran Kagura, you also made Half-Minute Hero and the Japan-only music game IA/VT. What other kinds of games do you want to create?

“I want to continue the Senran Kagura and Valkyrie Drive series. Recently, I had my first child and now that I have a child of my own maybe now it is time I want to challenge myself to make a family oriented game”. – Kenichiro Takaki

Siliconera
What can you tell us about this family game you’re thinking of?

“Maybe it will be something similar to the Pretty Cure series in Japan. I’ve always been a fan of Sailor Moon so maybe something about magical girls or girls that fight in battle, but without the fanservice aspects”Kenichiro Takaki

So when you read through that interview with Takaki, and check his and Marvelous Games response tweets about “Senran Kagura” and the said upcoming self-censorship, then you get a complete different picture from the one that you got from Playstation lifestyle’s article. So I hope that this update has cleared up any potential worries or questions that you guys and girls might have had about “Senran Kagura” and censorship previously.

Credit:
Just Lyle
Honkimus Maximus

Source:
Kenichiro Takaki part 1
Kenichiro Takaki part 2
Siliconera
KotakuInAction
Interview with Senran Kagura Producer Kenichiro
———————————————————
I had this creepy sense of deja vu when I heard the story about “Senran Kagura” and its risk of being affected by self-censorship in the future, because for the last couple of weeks, I’ve been told the following things; 1. There is no such thing as censorship in games 2. SJWs don’t exist and “SJW” is just a buzz word, 3. No one is going to take your games away and 4. (this is my all time personal favorite) You are just being paranoid and delusional.

Well, long story short, since I have written about “SJWs“, “censorship” and “political correctness” for over three years time now. I’ve  gotten to learn quite a lot about each said subject. So based on my own experiences I have to say that censorship, political correctness and the SJW nonsense does indeed exist for real in the games industry.

senran kagura estival versus beach fun

I like my games uncensored, thank you very much!

That’s also why I can’t say that I’m surprised to hear that the “Senran Kagura” game series might end up being self-censored by Tamsoft. Well, at least that’s the vibes that I got from the interview that PlayStation LifeStyle did with Senran Kagura’s producer Kenichiro Takaki (the interview was done just recently, on the 11th of July to be exact):

“And speaking with PlayStation LifeStyle’s own Tyler Treese, Senran Kagura Producer Kenichiro Takaki mentioned that he has considered toning down the bustiness and sexuality of the game’s female characters. Asked whether he and/or the studio have considered an option for toning down the game’s busty females, Kenichiro had this to say

A little bit. The game started out very small and that was the big selling point in order to move units. Now that the franchise has grown, and is getting more popular, it might be worth considering having features that differ depending on where it’s being sold. That way it might be able to sell better in certain regions where it would be problematic to have that kind of content”. – Kenichiro Takaki, via PlayStation LifeStyle

I did also notice another thing. You see, it seems like the main reason behind Takaki’s idea of self-censorship in “Senran Kagura” is because of game reviewers who have given the games a bad grade due to its lewd content (a big thanks to those said reviewers…):

“However, there are also reviews that ignore the games due to the sexual content, and write it off from the start, so those aren’t very helpful. If you’re going to write it off due to a main component then that game just isn’t for you, and that review isn’t really useful as feedback”Kenichiro Takaki

senran kagura producer kenichiro takaki self-censorship

I really hope that it isn’t true, because the games industry doesn’t need more censorship, it needs less.

So by the looks of it, Kenichiro Takaki would like to tone down the bustiness and sexuality of the game’s female characters in the “Senran Kagura” series in-order to sell more games and to get better game scores (especially in the parts of the world where Senran Kagura’s lewd content would be considered as “problematic“, aka “the West”). Well…I don’t know about you, but I don’t like the sound of this at all, because if there is anything that I’ve learned from covering video game censorship in the past.

Then it is the fact that once a game developer has started to censor their own games, then it’s just going to get far worse over time. So I truly hope that the “Senran Kagura” series won’t end up like “Street Fighter V“, “Fire Emblem: Fates“, “Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE” and “Dead or Alive Xtreme 3” did…

And for those who might not be familiar with “Senran Kagura”, here’s a list of the released games in the series so far:

Senran Kagura games:
Senran Kagura: Skirting Shadows – Nintendo 3DS (Japan – 2011-09-11)
Senran Kagura Burst – Nintendo 3DS (Japan – 2012-08-30 )
Senran Kagura Shinovi Versus – PSV (Japan – 2013-02-28) and PC (2016-06-01)
Senran Kagura 2: Deep Crimson – Nintendo 3DS (Japan – 2014-08-07)
Senran Kagura: Estival Versus – PS4, PSV (Japan – 2015-03-25) and PC (2017-03-17)
Senran Kagura: Peach Beach Splash – PS4 (Japan – 2017-03-16)

Anyways, let’s get back on topic again shall we? As I was saying, once the story about “Senran Kagura” and it’s hinted self-censorship injection became publicly known. Then it didn’t take long before Gamers (and fans) from all over the world started to question the idea of self-censorship in the “Senran Kagura” universe:

mark kern on senran kagura self-censorship part 1 final

I don’t like the sound of this, because this might just give other Japanese game developers and publishers the idea that we want more censorship in the West.

mark kern on senran kagura self-censorship part 2

Why do I get this feeling that we’re slowly getting to the point where every single female character will have to be covered up from top to toe?

In a strange kind of way, all of this made me think about the fact that there might actually be a lewd war in the near future (I will fight the good fight in the name of lewd content!). I mean, the meme war is already very much alive and kicking. So “if” the censorship of lewd games continues, and becomes even worse with time. Then who knows? Then we might get a lewd war as well (I don’t want to live in a “Shimoneta“-like world), and on a personal level I don’t even get why you would want to censor or tone down a game like “Senran Kagura” in the first place. As it’s pretty darn obvious that the lewd content plays a big part in the gameplay experience (it would make just as much sense as removing all the blood, gore, killing and Metal music from “Brutal Doom“). Sure, Kenichiro Takaki did explain his reasoning behind wanting to do so to “Senran Kagura”, but I just feel like there is more to it than just that.

senran kagura estival versus beach

Could you even imagine a toned down or censored version of “Senran kagura”? Well, I can’t. As it wouldn’t even be the same anymore.

Furthermore, I feel like Takaki is playing with fire, because if Tamsoft makes the call to censor or tone down “Senran Kagura”. Then I’m almost 100% sure that they are going to lose both sales and fans all over the world (those who aren’t fans of the series won’t even buy the games anyways, so why even bother to pander to them?).

It’s also worth pointing out that Marvelous Games (the European publishers of the “Senran Kagura” series) have stated that they have no plans to censor or tone down the content in “Senran Kagura” (as seen in the picture above and down below). In other words, if the “Senran Kagura” games end up being censored or toned down in the future, then it’s not Marvelous Games fault. So where exactly does this leave us? Well, It’s hard to say, since it’s Tamsoft and Kenichiro Takaki that makes these calls. So we just have to wait and see how it all turns out.

marvelous games on senran kagura self-censorship part 2

I understand where Marvelous Games is coming from here. However, that wouldn’t matter all that much if the self-censorship has already been injected in Japan, because Marvelous Games would then be presented with a censored game from the very start…

As for here and now though, I’m going to try to get in touch with Marvelous Games, Tamsoft and Kenichiro Takaki for a comment on this matter (wish me luck!). It would also be a good idea if everyone let Kenichiro Takaki know that we don’t want any censorship in the “Senran Kagura” series, so feel free to drop him a tweet or two via his Twitter handle @KenichiroTakaEn (let’s make him remember that “tits are life” and “ass is hometown”!).

And with that said, what’s your take on this matter? Let us know your thoughts in the comment section down below!

Credit:
Just Lyle
Best mom Eva

Source:
Marvelous Games part 1
Marvelous Games part 2
Playstationlifestyle
Operation Rainfall
moegamer
eigo-net-slang-jiten
Hom-Ru-Beoulve‏
A message to Japanese game developers from an US game developer

***Disclaimer***
This is a personal opinion of the writer, and it doesn’t necessarily represent the other writers (nor The Gaming Ground´s) opinions.

tgg author avatar robin ek
Robin “V-Act” Ek
Editor in chief
The Gaming Ground
Twitter: @TheGamingGround

Related Posts


More by Robin Ek:

Tags: , , , , ,

EwinRacing Calling Series Gaming Chairs

Save 3$ with our Play-Asia coupon code "thegg"

24 Comments ON " The Senran Kagura game series might get slammed wi... "
  • Nanya

    I love Senran Kagura.

    the gameplay, while not spectacular or gamebreaking is solid (if repetitive at times), the characters are fun to get to know and the T&A is awesome.

    Toning down the last bit will just cause people to not want to get the game. Because there are plenty of Hack and Slash games that do what SK does as well.

    It’s just… frustrating. Censoring because of laws of a country (Nazi symbolism in Germany for example) is one thing (that sucks horribly), but censoring because of moral busy bodies? That’s even worse.

  • I’m not really that into Senran Kagura but this is a cause for concern. If anything, it shows you just how much power and influence the Western video games press has, as well as the Western mainstream media.

    It was always just a matter of time before Japanese developers self-censor their games anyway (I’m not saying they’re doing it now, but it’s heading that way). And this is probably coming from the supposed UN Women initiative that Western feminists have set up in order to get Japanese female students who are studying overseas in the West to adopt the ideologue of feminism and take it over to Japan to slowly integrate it into their culture.

    And from what I read elsewhere from someone who has a Japanese friend, on the issue of Western censorship, he was told by him/her that apparently Japan has started being concerned about children being exposed to manga depicting overly scantily-clad women, and have been leaning more towards relying on schools and authorities to teach children about how these kinds of matters are problematic.

    Not so “based Japan” now eh?

    1. There is no such thing as censorship in games 2. SJWs don’t exist and “SJW” is just a buzz word, 3. No one is going to take your games away and 4. (this is my all time personal favorite) You are just being paranoid and delusional.

    The morons who use those excuses are SJWs, feminists and censorship apologists (usually pretending to be neutral). Trying to make it as if “SJWs don’t exist” has always been one of their main tactics in order to make it appear as if it’s the normal widely-accepted world view.

    People like them deserve nothing more than the Censorship Apologist Bingo.

    • Nanya

      Personally, I wonder how long the whole “being concerned about children” thing will last when the otaku community stops buying their stuff as much as they are now.

      Without the otaku community, a good chunk of the anime and video game market in Japan disappears.

    • You should check what this dude has written (search for comments by “Junkbat”):
      thegg.net/opinion-editorial/the-next-generation-of-gamers-the-time-of-change-is-upon-us/

    • Galbador

      You know, if people would try to piss at me and my work because of some boobies, I would rather make them even angrier with the next title. Only fems and SJWs are getting triggered so easily, but as long as I move in the green, no one can touch or sanctionize me

      • I would have done the same xD Exactly, so we’ll just have to wait and see how all of this plays out in the end.

      • That’s only if you’re on your own though. If you have a publisher or working for a big company, they will tell you to remove the tits. You know, for positive company PR, virtue-signaling and to prevent the company from being lynch-mobbed.

        Also, the other problem is the ratings boards. If you create a video game and need it to go through a ratings board, you’ll probably be screwed that way. SJWs/feminists have long been trying to infiltrate and take control of the ratings boards, they’ve been trying to do it for years.

        Because if they cannot change the culture itself, they’ll go to the authorities in charge of said medium and get it there. This isn’t just video games, but every other entertainment media as well. Video games is the sector where they haven’t completely succeeded – but they have for the most part, because virtually all Western developers now push the “diversity” and “feminist” garbage, and it’s all down to fear-mongering. If a developer creates a female character showing a bit a cleavage, the likes of Kotaku, Polygon, etc. and all the little whining SJW s*its on NeoGAF, Twitter, etc. will bully and lynch-mob the developer, and in same cases ruin his life.

        So anyway to my original point, if SJWs actually manage to take control and change the standards/definitions in ratings boards, then no amount of “based Japanese developers” or your “make them even angrier with the next title” will be able to get around it. Because it would be the law then.

        Once again, to anyone reading this, I encourage you to keep an eye on the ratings boards like ESRB, CERO, etc., because things can suddenly change out of nowhere, because SJWs get things like this changed quietly. To any SJWs or feminists reading this – go and stick a knife into an electric socket.

        • Galbador

          If this happens, if fems and SJWs really manage to manipulate the rating boards, then I really start wearing a tin foild hat for the rest of my life. I mean, how is it possible that a group has such a huge influence? If this is the future and we are not able to even dismantle their defense to show the world their true nature, then our future is truly fucked.

          • I mean, how is it possible that a group has such a huge influence?

            1) Gynocentrism, white-knighting and manginas.

            2) Feminists and women being the biggest, loudest, emotional and irrational whiners, complainers and crybabies on the planet.

          • Galbador

            You know what’s funny? I once posted that I could imagine a true gender war between men and women and guess what people thought about this. They just laughed and said that this would be silly. But seeing all those “manginas” white-knighting those feminazis, I think the fems got their army up and running.

            I bet 8th Day and Sales Curve never though this could really happening, when they made their game “Gender Wars”.
            What irony…

          • You mean this RTS game right? (I’ve sold a few copies of that one as of lately):
            https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqBKNESylQE

          • Galbador

            Yes, exactly. True, it was a joke game, more or less. But it seems like that this could actually become a reality if fems and SJWs are continuing with their attacks.

  • Nanya

    The only issue I have with his first tweet is that it can be twisted to mean “I’m still self-censoring, but everyone gets punished”.

    Let’s hope that never happens.

    • Well, “if” the Western age rating board tells Tamsoft and Marvelous Games to tone down “Senran Kagura”, then they will have to do so…

  • BenjaMan64

    “I’d like to make it clear that it is not my intention to tone down the content in Senran Kagura overseas.”
    https://twitter.com/kenichiro_taka/status/885445736367665152

    • Yes? I did add that part + His other statement as well (and a new interview).

  • Kishnabe

    The only censorship I can abide by is the Age Changing. Everything else must remain the same.

    • That’s where I would draw the line as well.

  • Galbador

    This doesn’t feel well, no matter if he clarified it in the end. Censorship in any kind of way is harmful, because it hinders the creator to show his vision to others. It is funny how tv, cinema and art in book and expression is not censored at all, but this however is. Go in a museum and tell me if you can spot things that look not right for minors and then tell me that video games are bad because of nudity in games, which were made for adults in the first place. Or tell me, why a preteen plays Call of Duty online. Those games are made for adults, people up to 18 and higher, depending from which country you come from.

    Parents yell at game developers that their games are not child friendly, no matter if people or monsters are killed on the most brutal way or naked NPCs are shown like in Senran Kaguna games. But the most question really is, why are those kids playing those games. Why do parents buy those games for their kids in the first place.

    Well, one would say, they don’t know and want that their kids simply shut up. Hey, those are video games and video games are made for kids, right? But on the other hand, parents don’t give a damn if their kids go to their friends and play those games or share them with each other. Heck, this is how I got Mortal Kombat for the SNES back in the days. As I said, parents like my own, never gave a damn and this is a problem.

    Only because of this, there will be censorship. People demand to tone it down, even though it was made for adults. I mean, we have PEGI and all the other control offices (Germany has maybe the worst one) but it doesn’t help or work well enough, because otherwise, we would not have this problem. Of course, feminists and SJWs are another factor for this, but that is chapter for itself.

    All I can say is, devs and pubs should stick to their stuff and pull it through, no matter what people say. If you go and try to avoid trouble, you will never be able to make what you want to, because someone will always through some sticks and stones into your way. As long as you you get no problems with PEGI and companions, you have nothing to worry about, because those, who like the games will support it and that is the most important thing. Feminists and SJWs will not. They yell and if the changed and censored games comes out, they laugh and won’t buy it. Only if the company is failing, they won just one more round for the main goal; dominating what we like and changing the world to their liking… and if that happens, no one will have the last laugh.

    • It’s like I said, if the Western age rating board tells them to tone down the game, then they will have to follow through with that request (aka “demand”)…

Advertising spot

Help us stay alive

Paypal Patreon logo

Google ads (please turn off your adblock)

Advertisement

 

Play-Asia.com - Buy Games & Codes for PS4, PS3, Xbox 360, Xbox One, Wii U and PC / Mac.

 

 

Recent posts

Causal Bit Games has released a brand-new trailer for "Battle Princess Madelyn"

Causal Bit Games has released a brand-new trailer for "Battle Princess Madelyn"

Press release: September 20th 2017, Nova Scotia, Canada - Causal Bit Games is excited to present a [...]
The PvP arena brawler "Battlerite" goes F2P on the 8th of November

The PvP arena brawler "Battlerite" goes F2P on the 8th of November

Stunlock Studios Announces Launch Date and Celebrates Over 1 Million Downloads with Free Week from S[...]
The video game charity album "Anireal" is now available in digital music stores

The video game charity album "Anireal" is now available in digital music stores

Anireal is a personal journey to recovery from child abuse as told through a videogame-inspired orig[...]
Warhammer 40K: Space Wolf leaves Steam early access on the 21st of September

Warhammer 40K: Space Wolf leaves Steam early access on the 21st of September

Press release: Your Great Company’s Strike Cruiser was ambushed by the infamous Chaos Space Marines[...]
Tali xoxo just made Metroid even sexier with her Samus Aran cosplays

Tali xoxo just made Metroid even sexier with her Samus Aran cosplays

As most of you probably already know by now (well, at least if you're a fan of the "Metroid series")[...]
Gal*Gun 2 is coming to Europe and North America in Q1 2018

Gal*Gun 2 is coming to Europe and North America in Q1 2018

Press release: PQube (London, UK) September 19, 2017 – In 2016, Gal*Gun: Double Peace changed the w[...]

Google ads

Our sponsors

Kinguin
EwinRacing Calling Series Gaming Chairs
TGG v2.4 © 2014 - 2017 *The Gaming Ground* all rights reserved
twitch icon youtube icon google plus icon twitter icon facebook icon rss icon
alexa
Privacy policy
TGG ethics policies